Skip to main content

Award Winners Back to WebApp

IPTA Section Distinguished Awards

Pioneer in Transplantation

The IPTA Pioneer in Transplantation Award acknowledges individuals who are recognized by their peers as leading pioneering research or clinical initiatives in the field of pediatric transplantation. They are influential, ground-breaking, and at the forefront of pediatric transplantation.

S. Adibul Hasan Rizvi

Professor, Urology & Transplantation
Director, SIUT (Sindh Institute of Urology & Transplantation)

2023 Recipient

Lifetime Achievement Award

Recognizes an IPTA member who has made outstanding contributions to the field of pediatric transplantation over the course of their career.

Burkhard Tönshoff

Professor of Pediatrics and Pediatric Nephrology
Vice Chairman, Department of Pediatrics | University of Heidelberg
(General Pediatrics, Neuropediatrics, Metabolism, Gastroenterology, Nephrology)
University Children’s Hospital, Heidelberg, Germany

2023 Recipient

Sponsored by:

Distinguished Allied Health and Nursing Professionals Award

The purpose of this award is to recognize an Allied Health and Nursing Professional member who has rendered years of faithful service to the Society and/or who has made a significant contribution to pediatric transplantation.

Anna Gold

PhD., C.Psych.
The Hospital for Sick Children,
Toronto, Canada

2023 Recipient

Sponsored by:

Future Leaders Career Development Award

The purpose of this award is to recognize future investigators who show leadership promises, encourage them in their careers in pediatric transplantation.

Amy Gallo

Assistant Professor, Surgery
Stanford University School of Medicine, CA, USA

2023 Recipient

Julien Hogan

Professor of Pediatrics | Chief, Division of Pediatric Nephrology
Hopital Robert Debre, APHP, Paris, France
Assistant Professor, Department of Surgery, Emory University, Atlanta, GA, USA

2023 Recipient

Thozama Siyotula

Paediatric Surgeon, Division of Paediatric Surgery
Red Cross War Memorial Children’s Hospital
Cape Town, South Africa

2023 Recipient


IPTA Congress Scientific Award Winners

Richard Issitt

United Kingdom
Use of immunoadsorption in an ex vivo laboratory setting to provide a potential intraoperative desensitisation methodology for paediatric cardiothoracic transplantation

Brunna Martins

Ninjurin1 controls plasma membrane rupture in hepatocytes

Marco Cazzaniga

Humoral response to Covid-19 mRNA vaccines in a cohort of young kidney transplant recipients from a single center in Northern Italy

Pankaj Chandak

United Kingdom
Kidney graft outcomes following kidney versus simultaneous liver-kidney transplantation – an UNOS database analysis

IPTA-TTS Congress Scientific Award Winners

Adewale Elijah Adetunji

South Africa
Evaluation of the implementation of a ‘paediatric feasibility assessment for transplantation’ (pFAT) form in children and adolescents at Red Cross War Memorial Children’s Hospital (RCWMCH), Cape Town, SA

Devprakash Choudhary

Graft loss due to isolated Angio-invasive Aspergillosis of Kidney Allograft following Normothermic Machine Perfusion of Neonatal En-bloc kidney after Uncontrolled Circulatory Determination of Death

Gabriela Gutiérrez

Adherence and medical outcomes, in adolescents/young adults following pediatric kidney transplantation: a transition experience between two public tertiary hospitals in Argentina

Tetsuya Tajima

United States
Epstein-Barr virus-associated post-transplant lymphoproliferative disorders in pediatric transplantation: A prospective multicenter study in the United States

Guang-Peng Zhou

People’s Republic of China
Domino hepatocyte transplantation using explanted human livers with metabolic defects attenuates D-GalN/LPS-induced acute liver failure

IPTA-ESOT Award for Best Abstract in Pediatric Transplantation

Luz Yadira Bravo Gallego

Clinical characteristics and outcomes of COVID-19 in paediatric transplant recipients: an international retrospective study of the European reference network on transplantation in children (ERN-TransplantChild)